Dangerous Curves Ahead!

Merry Early Christmas! I’m really excited . . . and nervous . . . and excited! Can you tell? Is it showing? Am I rambling?

Anyway . . . I’m a bit late (story of my life) but the packages are in the mail!

See?

This is Mailroom Chris . . . and he is AWESOME at getting my stuff mailed (I hate the post office). He would also like to add that if any of you lovely ladies are single and under the age of 45, he would love to meet you. You know you’ve been wanting a Texas Vacation, right? Right! You could also come see me at the same time! Win-Win! 🙂

Anyway . . . (again) here is what is winging its way to you RIGHT NOW!

Lovely, right? WAY out of my comfort zone, but I’ve decided if I end up not liking it, I can just blame y’all! So why not stretch my imagination a little? J/K, I love them all! I just can’t help but be a little nervous! And excited! Wait, we’ ve done all this before, haven’t we?

So here’s what I’m REALLY nervous about. How are you feeling about curves? Not the lovely ones you see in the mirror, but ones on a quilt! Please tell me you’re feeling good, because I LOVE the look of curves. So I’ve picked a relatively simple block . . . except the curved part of course.

Here is the link to the pattern, but I’ve also included the pattern, the templates, and some helpful tips in your packet.

http://www.allpeoplequilt.com/projects-ideas/throws-wall-hangings/melon-patch-circles_1.html

I’d like four blocks, like the ones above. Two with white petals and two with print petals, but I understand that it is the holidays and you are slammed! Whatever happens to make it into the mail is greatly appreciated! (Also, if it makes it into the mail late, no biggie, again I understand the holidays!) I’m trying to make a full size quilt for the guest bedroom, and that’s a LOT of blocks!

So thanks for all your help! Merry Christmas!

Your Quilter from the Lone Star State!

Ellen 🙂

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Dangerous Curves Ahead!

  1. I love this block, I’m so excited to make it! And your fabric is gorgeous. Bounce, bounce, squee!
    I’ve always wanted to visit Texas. Would single but 51 be of any interest to Mailroom Chris? tee hee
    Cheers!

    • OMG, you crack me up! You should DEFINITELY come to Texas, I’ll show you all the sites! Chris is REALLY embarrased I put up the picture . . . and as he’s 27 and pretty . . . well . . . he’s a boy, ya know, I doubt he’d be in your league, but I could definitely ask him 😉

  2. Meagan

    I am so nervous–I’ve never done curved pieces before. This is exactly what I was hoping for with this bee–learning new things! If you can believe it, I never did strip-piecing until Dorey sent out her blocks. And stars were new to me too. I suppose the logical thing to do is to move up to curves, but again, eek! nervous! And totally stoked.

    • LOL! Don’t worry about it, my piecing is FAR from perfect, so if they’re wonky, I figure it just adds to the charm of the quilt! It’s all for fun, I don’t strive for show-worthy quilts or anything! You’ll be great! I know it!

  3. Cassie

    Wow, curved piecing! I am excited to learn, but will definitely have to do a test run with some of my scraps before cutting into your beautiful fabrics.

  4. I can’t wait to get my package! The fabrics look fabulous. Thanks for the sneak peek.
    Missy

  5. Oohh, I love this fabric! (I think I have a little of every piece you pictured! LOL). I have done curved piecing ONCE and it was almost three years ago! Here’s to trying new things!

  6. knitngardnr

    the fabric is beautiful…

    and I can’t wait to try curves. thanks for the challenge.

    anita

Leave a Reply

