Introducing…

Hi. I’m Cassie.  I’m 26 and live in Nashville, Tennessee with my husband of 3 years and our two dogs.

These are my pups.

These are my pups.

I’m a lawyer and have been practicing for just a year.  I love it, but it stresses me out…hence why I quilt.  I definitely need my creative outlet, usually either quilting or crochet.

Since I was a kid, I have enjoyed needlepoint, cross-stitch and crochet.  I have also dabbled in pottery and jewelry making at one time or another.  I also love photography, but am a photographer only in the sense that I take photos – and usually not good ones.  I started quilting in college when a friend of mine bought a sewing machine and Kaffe Fassett’s book Glorious Patchwork.  I just couldn’t resist the beautiful quilts in that book. (A few of them are still on my to-do list.)  My first quilt was a queen size Kaffe Fassett quilt.  If I had known, I would have started with an easier pattern or a smaller scale, but I plowed through and love how it turned out.  My quilting took a hiatus during law school because I didn’t really have the time or space to quilt, but I did manage to make a few baby quilts during those years.

My husband and I just bought our first house and now I have my own dedicated sewing space.  I am thrilled to be back at it.  And I am really thrilled to see the beautiful quilts that we are going to make together.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Introducing…

  1. meaggiepie

    Cassie: I am a baby lawyer too! (As I term it.) What kind of law? I’m also just down the road, in Alabama 🙂

    • cassienm

      How fun to have so many crafty lawyers (crafty as in we like crafts, not as in scheming or tricky) together in this bee. I’m a litigator, mostly commercial and business lawsuits, but being in Music City, there is just enough entertainment work to make my job sound more glamorous. What type of law do you practice?

      • meaggiepie

        I’m a criminal appellate lawyer, with a little civil rights work thrown in. At least for now. I may go back to commercial litigation after my 2 years in Alabama are up–I’m still totally undecided.

        Yay for crafting lawyers!

  2. Hi Cassie,
    You got the photo loaded, way to go! Very intelligent looking doggies.
    I wouldn’t have had time to quilt in law school either. I did knit one sweater in my three years there. In the end the sweater was not wearable though.
    I’m pleased to meet you!

  3. Sweet dogs! Nice to meet you! I guess I’m going to know who to call if I get into trouble! I never knew so many quilting lawyers:)

  4. juliejaz

    Nice to meet you Cassie,

    The dogs look very smart! I also have no idea how you found time to do anything when you were in law school.

    I’m really happy to meet you,

    Julie

Leave a Reply

