Allow Me to Introduce Myself…..

Carter 1st B Day 021 resize

Hi!  I’m Jessica.  This is me ~ nearly three years ago.  Its the only picture of me in “recent” history that I can stand to look at and my husband makes fun of me because this picture is posted all over the internet!  I use it as my avitar on my blog, Facebook, every web board I’m a member of, Flickr, etc….I figure, hey I’m easy to recognize, right?!

I’m 34 years old, married to my best friend and have a life I only dreamed would be possible.  I’m a native Kentuckian, but we are currently living in my husband’s stomping ground on the West Coast (about 2 hours outside of Seattle).  I’m a SAHM to our two boys ages 6 1/2 & almost 4.  My husband is a commercial airline pilot which makes me a “sometimes single” Mom.  When he’s on trips I usually put the boys to bed a wee bit early and then camp out at my sewing machine for hours at a time.  Besides quilting, my other interests are Politics, Reading, & Running.  I’m currently training for the Seattle Half Marathon in November.

I started quilting about two and a half years ago when we finalized our papers for a Chinese adoption (still waiting…).  There is a tradition in China for making a quilt for a new baby out of fabric giftd from loved ones.  I wanted our baby to have such a quilt and I was bound and determined to make it myself.  So I bought a sewing machine.  I’ve been collecting fabric for our little girl, but not being one to just wait around, I’ve decided to jump into the quilting pool with both feet.  My stash has slowly taken over my closet (there is barely any room for my clothes!) and I’m notorious for piecing tops and then never quilting them (something I hope to change this year, as I venture more into free motion quilting).

You can find me here on my blog  or here on Flickr.  I can’t wait to get this started and get to know all of you lovely ladies!!

~Jessica

***ETA, I forgot my birthday month ~ which is November***

carry on, now.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Allow Me to Introduce Myself…..

  1. Hi Jessica,
    I love that you were inspired to start quiltmaking by a Chinese tradition. It is a great reason to learn a new craft.
    I’m pleased to meet you.

  2. meaggiepie

    You were not kidding when you said you’d been doing a lot of string blocks lately! Just checked out your blog and was wowed 🙂

  3. juliejaz

    Hi Jessica,

    I am tired this morning. I was having fun with a new blog yesterday and I stayed up much too late reading and getting current with it…it was your blog. I totally enjoyed it.

    It’s nice to meet you and I look forward to getting to know you.

  4. HI! So pumped for this! Love your string blocks 🙂

Leave a Reply

