It’s me!

Me

I finally figured out how to work with wordpress…I feel smart now and that doesn’t happen often. So here goes. My name is Julie and I’m 44 years old and almost single again. Almost a year ago my husband decided that after 20 years together he was done being married (he decided he wanted to roll back time and be 19 again and be free to party and chase women), our divorce is almost final. The last year has been very difficult and painful…to say the least. I live in eastern Idaho. I have 11 kids (yes I gave birth to all of them), but I’ve only got 6 kids still at home. I also have 2 grandchildren and my birth Month is January.

I started quilting about two years ago. I was whining talking to my mom about wanting a new quilt for my bed, but couldn’t find one I liked that I could afford. Her answer was, “Why don’t you just make one.” What a novel idea! Only problem was that the last time I had tried the quilting craft was back in the 9th grade when I had to make pillow. Granted I got an A+, but that had been 27 years in the past and I didn’t feel like I was capable of making some nice that I’d want on my bed. Mom didn’t take my excuses, she said she’d teach me to quilt. That’s how I got started. We went to Joanns Fabric and I picked out a Eleanore Burns log cabin pattern book and then proceeded to purchase enough fabric to make a king size quilt. I’ve been hooked on quilting and buying fabric ever since. It took me quite a while to finish that log cabin quilt, longer than I thought it would – but I did finish it and it’s been on my bed since. I did a lousy job with it, but learned a lot from doing it. I started a second project, a flying geese quilt. This time I used fabric I’d bought at Walmart, at the time I thought I was getting a great deal…it was 1$ a yard. What I didn’t realize is that all fabric quality is not the same. After I finished making the geese for the quilt, my machine that had been giving me fits all through the log cabin and all through the geese – with a grinding noise and a puff of smoke it died. The death of the sewing machine brought my quilting to a screeching halt until 2 months ago when I bought a new machine. I was happy to be back creating, but made myself finish the flying geese quilt. I used as much of the cheap fabric as I could. I taught myself to stipple and have been having such a good time with my new machine.

I grew up spending lots of time crocheting and knitting. I can do some embroidery work, but not very well. I’d like to improve on that. I plan on learning to knit socks soon. This if my first quilting Bee and I’m excited about the whole thing. I’ll probably ask lots of questions. I don’t Twitter, but I do have Facebook. My blog site is new http://kitchenquilter.blogspot.com/

Well that’s me. If anyone has any questions you can always ask.

Julie

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “It’s me!

  1. Hiya! WordPress gave me fits, too. I feel your pain 🙂

  2. juliejaz

    Hiya right back! I’m just glad I figured it out. How do we change the quilted square avatar thing to an actual picture of ourselves. I’ve looked, but didn’t find anything yet.

    • I haven’t figured that out yet, but I emailed Dorey this morning and asked her. I’m sure she’ll get back to us soon!

      • meaggiepie

        Although Dorey seems to be a more successful ‘splainer than I am, here’s what I think you do:
        In your dashboard, in the upper right hand side, there is a little link that says welcome, _insert your screen name here_. Click on your screen name. In that new window, there will be a box on the right hand side that says “change your gravatar.” Click on that, and go from there. Let me know if that works.

      • juliejaz

        Thanks, that made perfect sense. I will change the avatar once I take a new picture this evening.

      • Thanks for jumping in here Megan! I was being held hostage by Financial Statements.

  3. meaggiepie

    11 children!? Please do not tell my boyfriend that. He keeps talking about 13 kids. I told him 1 if he is lucky, and here you are doing it on your own with 11. Wow. You are one strong woman, I can tell already!

    • juliejaz

      I wanted 12, but that didn’t work out. You know having 1 is harder than 2 kids…just saying.

      I don’t know how strong I am. The situation was sink (I tried that out in the first couple of months and it didn’t work out) or swim. The kids needed me and I didn’t want to be a failure…so I swam and I’m glad I did because the ex just wasn’t/isn’t worth living my life with bitterness and pain hanging over my head.

      Someone once told me that the best revenge is succeeding and doing well…that’s what I’m aiming for. Success!

  4. I figured out the Avatar (evidently my computer screen was too small, and I just needed to move my LtoR scroll bar over) but my good pics are at home, so I’ll upload it later tonight! Thanks Meagan!

  5. Hi Julie,
    I’m so glad to see you here, you rock the perseverance!
    I’m recently divorced also, at age 50. The ex has already replaced me with a younger model. We didn’t have any children. I really admire you already for landing on your feet like you have.
    Cheers!

    • juliejaz

      Thanks everyone. Dorey, mine replaced me with several younger versions. When I’m feeling petty I laugh at the beer belly he’s acquired…so not hot. LOL

Leave a Reply

