Just how the heck does a Quilting Bee work, anyhow?

Hi everyone,

O.K., I’m back from my quest into FlickrLand, more or less intact. I lost my decoder ring in that bar when that guy … oh never mind.

So, here is an overview of how a quilting bee works.  Er, I mean one like ours. There are as many different types of Bees as there are sewing machines. We will just concentrate on ours.  And listen, I am not an expert on this at all.  Please feel free to correct me on anything in this post.

We have 12 “Sisters” in our group, so we will each be assigned a month. (Or grab a month if you know there is a particular time of year that is better for you).  Just before your assigned month, decide what type of block you want your Sisters to make for you and what fabric to use. Make 11 packets of fabric, with instructions for your block, and mail a packet to each sister. Upon receipt of the packet, each quilter makes a block with your fabric and instructions, then mails it back to you. At the end of one year we will each have a bunch of blocks.

For example, let’s say I choose June as my month because I know I won’t be able to sew in June. (My sewing machine takes the month off. What a diva!) And let’s pretend I would like a 12 inch block in a log cabin design using black, white and one other colour. I send the fabric and written instructions to each of you so you get them by the deadline. You make a block and mail it back to me during the month of June.  Then in July we do it all again with someone else’s fabric and design.

O.K., I know what you are thinking now. You are thinking “How much fabric?”, “What is the deadline”? and “Where’s my ice cream?”

The details on fabric and other practicalities are being written by someone else. Why re-invent the wheel, right?

On the  Flickr website you can find a group called Quilting Bee Blocks.  Here, a quilter has started an excellent series on the basics of Quilting Bees.

The topics she will cover include:

1. Fabric

2. Mailing

3. Etiquette

4. Bee Mama and Papa hints.

As each topic is explained I will post a link here so you can go and read it.

As for the deadlines, we will need to decide those for our group. Either Meagan can put on her Swap Mama hat and tell us, or we can decide as a group. For the record, I live in Canada.   Most likely some of you, my dear Sisters of the Bee,  live in the United States. Still others might live in Europe or elsewhere. Please let’s remember to take into account the time needed to mail packets internationally.

I think that is is for now. Please chime in with questions, comments, corrections, riddles and just plain howdys.

Cheers!

DoreyR

P.S. I should tell you that my motto is “If I have caused confusion and panic my work here is done.” Honest! It is in the header of my blog.  Did I do good work here?

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Just how the heck does a Quilting Bee work, anyhow?

  1. jessicamauk

    Sorry Dorey, but I understood every word you said! 🙂 (but I’m already in one bee and I’ve been stalking them for years) LOL!!

  2. meaggiepie

    Sorry, DoreyR, I do believe you have failed in your mission–I understand it all! What’s more, I’m linking this to the other bee so that I don’t have to re-re-invent the wheel 🙂

  3. I’m easily confused and I’ve never been in a Bee before. I’m sure I’ll get the hang of everything soon though.https://s-ssl.wordpress.com/wp-includes/images/smilies/icon_smile.gif

  4. I’ve never been in a Bee before. I’m sure I’ll get the hang of everything soon though.

  5. I have a stutter…:0

  6. I will take the month of November if it is still available!

  7. Is it possible to still join, this group? Or any suggestions as to how to join a quilting bee? Thanks.

Leave a Reply

